Scandinavian Design Awards

The second edition of Scandinavian Design Awards took place on February 6 at Musikaliska Kvarteret, StockholmSee 2024's winners here!

About SDA

Scandinavian Design Awards is an award initiated 2023 to celebrate the best design, architecture and interiors in Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland and Iceland. For 2024, the awards consist of seven categories: Architecture of the Year, Furniture of the Year, Interior Design Product of the Year, Designer of the Year, Interior Designer of the Year, Rising Star of the Year and Sustainability Award of the Year.

Scandinavian Design Awards is a collaboration between Stockholm Furniture Fair and the publishing house It Is Media, and aim to be an annual highlight for design industry professionals and enthusiasts alike. The prize ceremony promises an unforgettable evening to draw attention and pay tribute to both established and new players within architecture and design in Scandinavia.


Prize categories 2024

Architecture of the Year
Architecture of the Year includes commercial architecture, public architecture, residential architecture, as well as interior design (which in turn includes commercial interior, public interior and residential interior). Both small and large-scale projects are included.

Furniture of the Year
Furniture of the Year includes tables, seating and storage solutions for indoor and outdoor use – a product that is intended for furnishing. Office furniture is included.

Interior Design Product of the Year
Interior Design Product of the Year includes lighting, textiles, carpets, wall decor, mirrors, and smaller details such as pots or vases. Also includes interior materials such as flooring and tiles that add an aesthetic value to an interior.

Designer of the Year
A designer or design studio working from a combined business and artistic basis with form and function by sketching and designing an interior product. Include furniture, textile or industrial design (not interaction design, jewellery design, garden design, web design). The designer or design studio has positively distinguished themselves or shown special performances during the year.

Interior Designer of the Year
An interior designer creating functional and aesthetically pleasing interior spaces. Include residential, commercial, hospitality, healthcare and more. The interior designer or interior design studio of the year has distinguished themselves in a positive way or shown special performances during the year.

Rising Star of the Year
An award acknowledging outstanding performance of an emerging designer, design studio, design group or architect. Includes those who are 0-5 years into their career – fresh graduates and newly transitioned practitioners. The aim is to recognize up-and-coming designers who have made promising contributions to the industry during the year, and to act as a platform for young designers to showcase their work.

Sustainability Achievement of the Year
The award recognizes actors who have made significant contributions in accelerating the green transition in the fields of built environment, architecture and design. The award focuses on change-makers and is awarded to companies, individuals, organizations, collaborations or initiatives that, through a strong commitment, create cutting-edge project(s) that inspire and show the way to a healthier, more inclusive and resilient future within our planetary boundaries. By honouring exceptional accomplishments, the award serves as a catalyst for broader industry transformations that emphasize responsible development, restoration of natural capital and long-term commitment.


The jury 2024

SDA jury 2024

Amina Djemili, Editor in chief Rum Hemma
Antrei Hartikainen, Designer
Anya Sebton, Designer and Interior designer
Cecilie Molvær Jørgensen, Senior Advisor at Design and Architecture Norway (DOGA)
Cassandra Bradfield, Interior architect and product designer
Eero Koivisto, Architect, Designer and Founder CKR
Hlín Helga Guðlaugsdóttir, Curator and Designer
Ivana Kildsgaard, Architect and Director of Sustainability and Quality at Tengbom
Jannicke Kråkvik, Stylist and Founder Kråkvik/D'Orazio
Josefin Udén, Editor in chief Nya Rum
Julius Iversen, Creative Director and Founder Tableau
Kari Korkman, Founder of Helsinki Design Week and Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale
Kieran Long, Director of ArkDes
Lisa Marie Mannfolk Eklund, Managing Editor Tidskriften Rum
Marcia Harvey Isaksson, Interior architect
Martha Lewis, Head of Materials at Henning Larsen
Niina Sihto, Co-founder of Senior Designer Fyra Ltd
Per-Olav Sølvberg, Interior stylist
Pekka Pakkanen, Architect and founder Planetary Architecture
Tina Vernon, Editor Nya Rum
Viktoria Millentrup, Design Lead Architect BIG

The jury is chaired by architectural historian and writer Martin Rörby.